Let the Sunlight In

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

A friend accompanied me to attend the Open-Day Recruitment of Qatar Airways last week. I was invite through an email and although I already tried 4 years ago in Manila and found out that I couldn’t reach the 212 cm on tiptoes, I had to think positive that back then, I was heavier and maybe, just maybe, now that I lost some weight, I would be able to reach it. I wasn’t planning to go but I know that it would well worth of a trip since I received an email invitation that I was shortlisted a day after I passed my application online in their careers login page. With high hopes, I have decided to go regardless of the consequences. I know that I gave up being a Flight Attendant years ago. When I reached the final interview in Gulf Air but wasn’t able to get in, I still felt good because I was able to reach until the final interview. I knew from there that the nature of the job is not for me. Although I love to travel plus photography, I felt deep down that it’s not for me. But because we crossed paths again, I told myself, what could go wrong? We’ll just try one last time. If it doesn’t work, be happy that you were at least invited.  We left San Fernando City, La Union around 330am. 

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

We were able to witness the sunrise in TPLEX (Tarlac Pangasinan La Union Express Way).

We arrived at Clark around 8 am and found a lot of girls who were at the registration line just at the lobby of Park Radisson Inn. Before I went in, I went to the washroom of the hotel and found a lot of other applicants with their mothers..mothers!  Don’t get me wrong. I love it when parents are in full support of their children. I was too accompanied by my cousin during my first try of getting in an airline. I was just shocked in the numbers of mothers in the washroom. Moving on.. I went in at the small hall, showed my CV, registered and saw 5 girls in front of the small meeting room trying to reach the 212cm. I met a few girls who came from outside of Pampanga just to try their luck in getting in. When I got the chance to try too. 5 girls were called. We gave our CV and the gentleman from IPAMS told us to use our left arm first to reach the 212cm text written in a scotch tape (I was able to reach), next was the right arm (I was able to reach), then both arms (I wasn’t able to!). Damn it!  Haha but it’s all good. The gentleman talked to me and said that I’ll try again next time or another position in the future. I smiled and walked out of the room with a smile. My friend asked me why I went out immediately like I was only inside for 30 minutes. Well that’s just how it goes. You shouldn’t let one failed job application get your spirit down. It should be a challenge and a motivation to improve. Although I know that at 25 (and I’m turning 26 next month boohoooo) I won’t get taller, I know that God has other plans for me.

Not to ruin the day and check-in is still at 1400hrs, we decided to go to San Fernando Pampanga and get the item that my friend ordered overseas. We didn’t want to get into traffic so we decided to take the SCTEX again since it’s just around 30 minutes ride from Clark. We got a little irresponsible when we weren’t able to enter the San Fernando Pampanga exit at SCTEX and ended up exiting at an exit I totally forgot what the name was but I will not forget how high the amount of money we had to pay at the toll gate. After picking up the item, we thought of what else there is to do. It was only around 11am and still 3 hours from check-in time. I called my long time friend from college Dianne who is living in Olongapo and I was supposed to meet in June when I arrived but run out of time and budget to do so.

It wasn’t planned and it’s just 2 hours away so we decided to be on the freeway again but towards Olongapo this time.

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

We arrived at Subic around 1pm and decided to grab a late lunch at S&R pizza. Although I wasn’t able to take a photo of the food we ate which was so satisfying and worth buying for, I was able to take a photo of this old man just outside the window of S&R who was very patient in making his key chains look more creative.

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

He even paused to check how his art looked like.. We forgot to buy from his items because we were in a rush to get to the hospital but we hope that we’ll see him again when we go back in Olongapo when our trip is planned properly.

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Upon finishing our late lunch, I took this photo to send to my friend to let her know where we are and how we should go to the hospital where her mother is admitted.

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

I was just so happy to see this human being! The last time we saw each other was in Baguio City in 2014! 😀

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

We are very happy to see each other… haha! We hope that get to be with each other longer the next time that I’ll be visiting Olongapo which happens to have an amazing beach areas. We stayed at the hospital at about an hour and decided to go back to Clark to get some rest. I got teary eyed when I hugged her and kissed her because I missed her and can’t let go of her. She’s one of those closest friends I have from college. She has a lot of things to do too because of her mother’s medicines.. I hope that her mother will get out of the hospital soon. I adore her strength and fighting spirit!

On our way back to Clark, there were a lot of mountains surrounding the express way but this particular mountain caught my eye.

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Back in Clark..

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

We ended the day with a goodnight’s sleep around 9pm because we had to travel back to La Union around 6 am the next day.

And although I wasn’t able to get in, the experience only teaches me more lesson and opened my mind to more possibilities of not feeling bad about it.

On our way home the next morning, we came across this interesting drink in 7 Eleven

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Sincerely,

Raiza

Trip to CRK + biglaang trip to Olongapo

Leave a Reply

