Obstruction

What will you do when you’re choking in your dream? You don’t worry that much because you’ll wake up from that bad dream and realize that you can still breathe.. but it wasn’t for me. It was my first time experiencing it and it felt really bad that I can’t breathe and I felt helpless because I was alone in my room.

In the dream, it was exactly the same as what I was doing in my sleep, I was just lying there in my bed next to Baymax and I felt like there was something obstructing my breathing. I felt like I was going to die but I told myself that it was just a dream and that I’ll be fine. This phlegm will be gone by the time I open my eyes. But it didn’t! I opened my eyes and saw Baymax lying next to me while I try to breathe but I couldn’t. In that short 5 seconds, I immediately sat down on my bed and tried to cough but I can’t. Another three coughs and I felt relief. The phlegm that obstructed my throat is temporarily gone. I tried to think what to do next. I grabbed a bottle of water from my bedside table and drink it, all of it. I realized that this is one effect of my being a long time smoker. I told myself that I would quit when I started to cut down cigarettes since last year but it so happened that a heartbreaking event took place exactly a week ago and the depression that my body felt made me crave for nicotine every hour. I looked at my phone and saw the time was 8 am. I only had 6 hours of sleep and I wanted to sleep more because it is my day off but this happened. I sent a message to one of my friends back home and to my significant other.

This just made me realize that I should try to stop smoking.. again.

-Raiza

Leave a Reply

