Huge Bed to Fill

“Own only what you can carry with you; know language, know countries, know people. Let your memory be your travel bag.”

Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Russian novelist

 CIMG0128

This quote hit me hard this morning in our briefing at work. My roommate’s flight is tonight at 2000hrs and I have decided not to drop her at the airport. I have two important reasons. First is that I am selfish enough not to see her leave and second, I don’t want to see her boyfriend’s face. Call me childish but I don’t want to waste my time looking at his face knowing that he’s one of the reasons why she’s going back home to the Philippines. I haven’t seen him. I might have in some of our events with other companies but I am not interested in wasting my time meeting him nor even dare look at him. I tried my best yesterday to talk to my boss for him to allow me to drop her at the airport but thank God my boss was so busy that I couldn’t get hold of him. Later on the evening, I was already worried to tell my roommate that I won’t be able to drop her but it’s like a blessing in disguise that I wasn’t able to take permission from my boss to go early from work today because her boyfriend will be dropping her at the airport. I told her that it’s settled then. 

This morning, Sy, my roommate, and I went to Kasbah for a farewell breakfast. Since I won’t be able to drop her, we have decided to get together somewhere near the accommodation because I had to go to work at 9 which I moved to 10 because apparently 1 hour is not enough to eat breakfast and catch up and say our goodbye. She shared some disappointment and frustration she experienced earlier today with some of her other friends in the company who I know too but are not that close. We started to talk about her coming back maybe next year but she might go to another company.

We had a fulfilling breakfast at BHD3.5 each for the Exclusive English Breakfast.

CIMG0151

CIMG0150

CIMG0138

CIMG0137

CIMG0134

CIMG0133

CIMG0131

CIMG0130

CIMG0129

 

IMG_1186

IMG_1180

Sincerely hurting,

CIMG0145

Iya Rai

Leave a Reply

