Impulsive Book Buying

For some reason, books make me orgasm more than shopping for clothes and shoes. They make you imagine, create, and watch an entire movie or a world of your own in your mind. But sometimes I become too obsessed with the novels I read that I just want to be there. I want to be stuck in that amazing world of fiction. Books are my therapy when I’m feeling down and not in the mood of writing my emotions. They make me absorb knowledge.

I was at the mall today and for the only reason that I’ve been craving for Japanese rice rolls for weeks. After eating, I called my transport and told me that it’s going to take like 30 minutes more before he can come and pick me up. So, I had to kill some time. I was thinking of buying one book and go to Starbucks (since I haven’t had Starbucks for months) while waiting for the transport. But my throat doesn’t cooperate today. I feel like I’m going to catch more pain if I continue ordering a cup of coffee so I ended up looking for another book to buy since I only planned to buy 1. And I told myself that I won’t spend more than PhP 1,000. NO.

_DSC1738

So this is the first book I saw and I scanned the first topics and there I was, intrigued and felt the urge of excitement eat me. My original plan was to buy Love and Misadventure by Lang Leav but since it’s out of stock, I had to find something to save my sanity. So I have made the decision after reading the first 3 pages of it and bought it.

The Art of Thinking Clearly by Rolf Dobelli

But wait, as I have mentioned, I ended up buying two and what more could I ask for but a Mitch Albom book. I wanted to buy all of his books but don’t have enough money so I’ll be it one by one. The title of this book intrigued me more! I don’t know why but having been read Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays With Morrie made me adore his way of writing more since I cried a lot of times while reading Tuesdays With Morrie.

_DSC1740
The First Phone Call from Heaven by Mitch Albom

No regrets.

A few days back, I was contemplating whether to buy that very beautiful cardigan from Zara that’s worth PhP 1,300+ and a pair of boots worth Php 1,250+. And I’ve been thinking whether to buy it or not for a day. But for books, no.. I only need to read the title, read a few pages and decide to buy it if I like the humor and topic.

So yes, impulsive book buying at these emotionally troubled times is what I needed the most.

Leave a Reply

